Not Sure What to Read Next – Create a TBR Jar

Talk about bookworm problems! There are so many amazing books that sometimes it’s just impossible to select your next great read. I get so tired of debating what to read next that I decided to create a reading challenge jar. Or as I like to to call it, my TBR jar.

Similar to date night jars or chore jars, the jar is filled with craft sticks. In this case, each one has a fun suggestion to help you find your next book.

What You Need

Putting together a reading challenge jar is very simple. All you need are:

An empty canning jar

Craft sticks

A marker or paint pen

A list of book suggestions

And that’s it!

Find Your Supplies:

This page contains affiliate links. This means for any purchase made, I receive a small commission at no additional cost to you.

Join Our Email List

As a thank you, you’ll receive free printable reading journal templates and a bonus 100 book reading list!

Get Creative

This is a great activity to do with kids so help them get creative when decorating their jars. Use paint pens to draw designs on the jar. Allow the paint to cure three days. Then bake the jar at 350 degrees F for 30 minutes. Allow the jar to cool completely and your paint will be water proof. Once the paint has cured, add other decorations, like stickers.

Label Your Craft Sticks

I opted for colored craft sticks because I thought they were fun and made the jar more exciting. These can also be decorated with markers, stickers, glitter, etc.

Label each stick with an idea for a book. There are tons of ideas for possible books. If you’re doing this project with young children, gear the ideas toward their reading level. Need ideas to get you started or just a fun reading challenge? I’ve compiled a list of 50 ideas in a free printable. Click the Download button below to get your copy (no email address required).

Join Our Email List

As a thank you, you’ll receive free printable reading journal templates and a bonus 100 book reading list!

Enjoy Your Next Book

Add your decorated and labeled craft sticks to your jar and you’re all done! Easy! The next time you need an idea for a good book, pick a stick from the jar.

How do you like to pick your next book?

More From the Blog

An Interview with Author Rose Ross
Photo by Tim Stepien/Coastal Star Rose Ross was the first child born in the Neustadt, Germany displaced persons camp (1946). "Growing up in the Bronx, the only child of Holocaust survivors, affected me deeply, filling up my mind and the very air I breathed, " says Ross. "Their story, and the stories of other survivors, …
Now Accepting Short Story Submissions
Now Accepting Open Submissions I’d like to thank all who have entered the short story contest over the past year and a half. We’re going to take a brief break from the monthly contest. Instead, I am accepting short story submissions for publication. Read on for guidelines. Guidelines Stories are to be 1,500 to 3,000 …
[Book Review] Celestial Persuasion by Mirta Ines Trupp
Click the image to find it on Amazon By Mirta Ines Trupp Abigail Issacs is a gifted astronomer. But the loss of her father places her in a perilious situation that requries help from her brother, who has been away at sea. When she receives a tragic reply, Abigail finds herself in the charge of …
Now Accepting Short Story Submissions
Now Accepting Open Submissions I’d like to thank all who have entered the short story contest over the past year and a half. We’re going to take a brief break from the monthly contest. Instead, I am accepting short story submissions for publication. Read on for guidelines. Guidelines Stories are to be 1,500 to 3,000 …

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: