Not Sure What to Read Next – Create a TBR Jar

Talk about bookworm problems! There are so many amazing books that sometimes it’s just impossible to select your next great read. I get so tired of debating what to read next that I decided to create a reading challenge jar. Or as I like to to call it, my TBR jar.

Similar to date night jars or chore jars, the jar is filled with craft sticks. In this case, each one has a fun suggestion to help you find your next book.

What You Need

Putting together a reading challenge jar is very simple. All you need are:

An empty canning jar

Craft sticks

A marker or paint pen

A list of book suggestions

And that’s it!

Find Your Supplies:

This page contains affiliate links. This means for any purchase made, I receive a small commission at no additional cost to you.

Join 5,500+ Followers

As a thank you for registering for our email list, you’ll receive free printable reading journal templates and a bonus 100 book reading list!

Get Creative

This is a great activity to do with kids so help them get creative when decorating their jars. Use paint pens to draw designs on the jar. Allow the paint to cure three days. Then bake the jar at 350 degrees F for 30 minutes. Allow the jar to cool completely and your paint will be water proof. Once the paint has cured, add other decorations, like stickers.

Label Your Craft Sticks

I opted for colored craft sticks because I thought they were fun and made the jar more exciting. These can also be decorated with markers, stickers, glitter, etc.

Label each stick with an idea for a book. There are tons of ideas for possible books. If you’re doing this project with young children, gear the ideas toward their reading level. Need ideas to get you started or just a fun reading challenge? I’ve compiled a list of 50 ideas in a free printable. Click the Download button below to get your copy (no email address required).

Join 5,500+ Followers

As a thank you for registering for our email list, you’ll receive free printable reading journal templates and a bonus 100 book reading list!

Enjoy Your Next Book

Add your decorated and labeled craft sticks to your jar and you’re all done! Easy! The next time you need an idea for a good book, pick a stick from the jar.

How do you like to pick your next book?

More From the Blog

Celebrating Diversity – Books with Asian Jewish Voices
April is Asian American and Pacific Islander Month. In celebrating diversity within our Jewish tribe, I've compiled a list of books by Asian Jews and featuring Asian Jewish characters. Join the conversation by adding your suggestions for other titles to check out in the comments. This page contains affiliate links. This means for any purchases …
[May Featured Short Story] My Name is Hathor by Heidi Slowinski
Monthly Short Story Feature One of my writing goals for 2022 is to create more short stories. They're a good creative exercise and sometimes lead to bigger ideas for novels. Or who knows, maybe an eventual collection of short stories in the form of a new book. My selection this month is just for fun. …
Short Story Contest – Deadline is May 30th
Attention writers! This month's short story contest theme is: A trip with an unexpected outcome Entries must be received by midnight Monday, May 30th, cst. Selected stories will be featured during the month of June. Read on for further guidelines. Guidelines Stories are to be 1,500 to 3,000 words. All genres welcome. Please keep it …
Books On My Reading List This Week – May 10, 2022
Read Along with Me My to-do list around the house is getting shorter as I'm crossing projects off my list. It's fun to make a few changes around the house. Still a couple of bigger tasks to get to but I'll have them all finished by the end of the month (fingers crossed). If you …

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: