Not Sure What to Read Next – Create a TBR Jar

Talk about bookworm problems! There are so many amazing books that sometimes it’s just impossible to select your next great read. I get so tired of debating what to read next that I decided to create a reading challenge jar. Or as I like to to call it, my TBR jar.

Similar to date night jars or chore jars, the jar is filled with craft sticks. In this case, each one has a fun suggestion to help you find your next book.

What You Need

Putting together a reading challenge jar is very simple. All you need are:

An empty canning jar

Craft sticks

A marker or paint pen

A list of book suggestions

And that’s it!

Find Your Supplies:

This page contains affiliate links. This means for any purchase made, I receive a small commission at no additional cost to you.

Join Our Email List

As a thank you, you’ll receive free printable reading journal templates and a bonus 100 book reading list!

Get Creative

This is a great activity to do with kids so help them get creative when decorating their jars. Use paint pens to draw designs on the jar. Allow the paint to cure three days. Then bake the jar at 350 degrees F for 30 minutes. Allow the jar to cool completely and your paint will be water proof. Once the paint has cured, add other decorations, like stickers.

Label Your Craft Sticks

I opted for colored craft sticks because I thought they were fun and made the jar more exciting. These can also be decorated with markers, stickers, glitter, etc.

Label each stick with an idea for a book. There are tons of ideas for possible books. If you’re doing this project with young children, gear the ideas toward their reading level. Need ideas to get you started or just a fun reading challenge? I’ve compiled a list of 50 ideas in a free printable. Click the Download button below to get your copy (no email address required).

Join Our Email List

As a thank you, you’ll receive free printable reading journal templates and a bonus 100 book reading list!

Enjoy Your Next Book

Add your decorated and labeled craft sticks to your jar and you’re all done! Easy! The next time you need an idea for a good book, pick a stick from the jar.

How do you like to pick your next book?

More From the Blog

Now Accepting Short Story Submissions
Now Accepting Open Submissions Attention writers! We are accepting open short story and poetry submissions centered around the theme of: Giving Thanks Entries must be received by midnight Monday October 25th. Selected stories will be featured during the month of November. Read on for further guidelines. Guidelines Stories are to be 1,500 to 3,000 words. …
[Book Review] URGE to ROME: My Quest to Become Sexy, Sultry & Migraine-Free by Kyra Robinov
Click the image to find it on Amazon By Kyra Robinov When her husband's work in food opens up the opportunity for their family to spend a year living abroad, they make the decision to spend a year in Rome. Kyra Robinov's latest memoir recounts their year of new experiences, challenges, and personal growth as …
Books On My Reading List This Week
Read Along With Me This week, I'm continuing my focus on Jewish literature. I'm still working my way through Elie Wiesel's Night Trilogy. I should be finishing Dawn this week and moving on to Day. The second book on my list is from my Want to Read list on Goodreads. I add recommendations, titles I …
10 Children’s Books for Hanukkah, 2021 Edition
Hanukkah is right around the corner! What better time to add to your child or grandchild's library and pass along the story and traditions of the holiday? I've assembled a list of 10 suggestions to do just that, including one for interfaith families. Enjoy! This page contains affiliate links. This meas for any purchase made, …

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: