TBR Jar DIY – Easily Decide What to Read Next

Having a hard time deciding what to read from your TBR pile? Talk about bookworm problems! There are so many amazing books that sometimes it’s just impossible to select your next great read. I get so tired of debating what to read next that I decided to create a reading challenge jar. Or as I like to to call it, my TBR jar.

Similar to date night jars or chore jars, the jar is filled with craft sticks. In this case, each one has a fun suggestion to help you find your next book. As an alternative, you could also list specific titles from your TBR list.

TBR Jar

What You Need

TBR Jar

Putting together a TBR jar is very simple. All you need are:

An empty canning jar

Craft sticks

A marker or paint pen

A list of book suggestions

And that’s it!

Find Your TBR Jar Supplies:

This page contains affiliate links. This means for any purchase made, I receive a small commission at no additional cost to you.

Join 5,500+ Followers

As a thank you for registering for our email list, you’ll receive free printable reading journal templates and a bonus 100 book reading list! Members of the email list also receive an exclusive discount code for my Etsy store: MapleStreetStudioHRS.

Get Creative

This is a great activity to do with kids so help them get creative when decorating their jars. Use paint pens to draw designs on the jar. Allow the paint to cure three days. Then bake the jar at 350 degrees F for 30 minutes. Allow the jar to cool completely and your paint will be water proof. Once the paint has cured, add other decorations, like stickers.

Label Your Craft Sticks

I opted for colored craft sticks because I thought they were fun and made the jar more exciting. These can also be decorated with markers, stickers, glitter, etc.

TBR Jar

Label each stick with an idea for a book. There are tons of ideas for possible books. If you’re doing this project with young children, gear the ideas toward their reading level. Need ideas to get you started or just a fun reading challenge? I’ve compiled a list of 50 ideas in a free printable. Click the Download button below to get your copy (no email address required).

Reading Challenge

Join 5,500+ Followers

As a thank you for registering for our email list, you’ll receive free printable reading journal templates and a bonus 100 book reading list! Members of the email list also receive an exclusive discount code for my Etsy store: MapleStreetStudioHRS.

Enjoy Your Next Book

TBR Jar

Add your decorated and labeled craft sticks to your jar and you’re all done! Easy! The next time you need an idea for a good book, pick a stick from the TBR jar.

How do you like to pick your next book?

More From the Blog

Latest Short Story Contest – Win a $25 Prize
Attention writers! This month's short story contest theme is: A Short Story Inspired by Your Favorite Childhood Memory Entries must be received by midnight November 28th, cst. Selected stories will be featured during the month of October. Read on for further guidelines. Short Story Contest Guidelines Stories are to be 1,500 to 3,000 words. All …
Latest Short Story Contest – Win a $25 Prize
Attention writers! This month's short story contest theme is: A Short Story Inspired by Your Favorite Childhood Memory Entries must be received by midnight November 28th, cst. Selected stories will be featured during the month of October. Read on for further guidelines. Short Story Contest Guidelines Stories are to be 1,500 to 3,000 words. All …
Latest Short Story Contest – Win a $25 Prize
Attention writers! This month's short story contest theme is: A Short Story Inspired by Your Favorite Childhood Memory Entries must be received by midnight November 28th, cst. Selected stories will be featured during the month of October. Read on for further guidelines. Short Story Contest Guidelines Stories are to be 1,500 to 3,000 words. All …
Latest Short Story Contest – Win a $25 Prize
Attention writers! This month's short story contest theme is: A Short Story Inspired by Your Favorite Childhood Memory Entries must be received by midnight November 28th, cst. Selected stories will be featured during the month of October. Read on for further guidelines. Short Story Contest Guidelines Stories are to be 1,500 to 3,000 words. All …
TBR

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: