Not Sure What to Read Next – Create a TBR Jar

Talk about bookworm problems! There are so many amazing books that sometimes it’s just impossible to select your next great read. I get so tired of debating what to read next that I decided to create a reading challenge jar. Or as I like to to call it, my TBR jar.

Similar to date night jars or chore jars, the jar is filled with craft sticks. In this case, each one has a fun suggestion to help you find your next book.

What You Need

Putting together a reading challenge jar is very simple. All you need are:

An empty canning jar

Craft sticks

A marker or paint pen

A list of book suggestions

And that’s it!

Find Your Supplies:

This page contains affiliate links. This means for any purchase made, I receive a small commission at no additional cost to you.

Get Creative

This is a great activity to do with kids so help them get creative when decorating their jars. Use paint pens to draw designs on the jar. Allow the paint to cure three days. Then bake the jar at 350 degrees F for 30 minutes. Allow the jar to cool completely and your paint will be water proof. Once the paint has cured, add other decorations, like stickers.

Label Your Craft Sticks

I opted for colored craft sticks because I thought they were fun and made the jar more exciting. These can also be decorated with markers, stickers, glitter, etc.

Label each stick with an idea for a book. There are tons of ideas for possible books. If you’re doing this project with young children, gear the ideas toward their reading level. Need ideas to get you started or just a fun reading challenge? I’ve compiled a list of 50 ideas in a free printable. Click the Download button below to get your copy (no email address required).

Join our mailing list

Receive free reading journal templates as our thank you to you! You’ll also receive notices of new blog posts so you never miss an update.

Enjoy Your Next Book

Add your decorated and labeled craft sticks to your jar and you’re all done! Easy! The next time you need an idea for a good book, pick a stick from the jar.

How do you like to pick your next book?

More From the Blog

[Book Review] Anarchy and Other Lies by Jesse McKinnell
Click the image to find it on Amazon By Jesse McKinnell Jake Anderson is a silverware designer turned vigilante, albeit a reluctant one, living on the fringes of a dying society. Fresh food has become scarce and, what is available, is under ration by the government. Jake finds himself infatuated with Sam. But he soon …
[Book Review] Rags of Time: A Thrilling Historical Murder Mystery set in London on the eve of the English Civil War by Michael Ward
Click the image to find it on Amazon By Michael Ward Thomas Tallant returns to England, from India, to find his country mired in turmoil. Conflict between King George I and Parlement is threating to boil over into civil war. But when a rival spice merchant is found brutally murdered, Thomas finds himself at the …
An Interview with Author PD Alleva
PD Alleva is an alternative fiction author. His novels cross genres, blending mystery, conspiracy, psychology, and action with horror and dystopian science fiction. Alternative fiction is PD's attempt at describing what readers uncover in any one of his books, a new discovery towards mainstream storytelling. He's been writing since childhood, creating and developing stories with …
Short Story Contest – Win A Guest Post
About the Contest Each month the site hosts a short story contest. It’s a unique contest because each month, participants are challenged to craft a short story based on a visual writing prompt. Selected entries receive a feature guest post here on the site. There is no fee for entry but donations are appreciated. Contest …

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: